Scroll to content
St Francis de Sales Catholic Junior School home page

St. Francis de Sales Catholic Junior School

Non Excidet

School Council

Education is the most powerful weapon, which you can use to change the world.

– Nelson Mandela

The school council has had a significant impact on the many changes and improvements of St Francis de Sales this year.  Most notably, the installation of the school astro-turf. During their speeches, the school council candidates all expressed their desire for a safe space to be able to play team sports. Their persuasive skills and techniques were developed during conversations with Mr Reidel and the children were delighted when the decision was made to install the long- awaited astro-turf. As a result of their determination and articulated reasoning’s, St Francis de Sales now has a safe, exciting space to complete sports activities. 


In addition, the school councillors have also had a positive impact on the school menu. Expressing their desire for different range of healthy foods from around the world, our school chef was persuaded by case studies and pupil surveys, completed by the councillors, and introduced a brand new multicultural menu. With something for everyone, our children can now enjoy a vast range of different foods, showcasing our cultural diversity, each day in the canteen. Alongside this, our school councillors have also created a positive change in the approach to the mental health of their peers. As a result of the introduction of a mindfulness club and a buddy base in the playground, the councillors have ensured all children have a place to go during playtimes. Mindfulness club creates a safe space for children to go when they feel they need some time to reflect; whereas the buddy base is a place to go when children have no one to play with. These two aspects have been a great addition to the school and ensure children are getting the most out of their free times during playtime.


These positive changes are just the start of a success school council. With close links with the Lord Mayor of Liverpool, the school council have had guidance and inspiration for strong leadership and community values that are reflective in their attitude and approach to their impact within our school.


Meet the 2022/23 School Council

Previous School Council

School Council Video

Still image for this video