Home Page

St Francis de SalesCatholic Junior School

  • Translate

Year 6: Project 14 - Religious Education: Belongings and Values in Islam

Project 14: Religious Education: Belongings and Values in Islam


As part of our Religious Education curriculum, each year we explore two other faiths. For this project, you will be learning about Islam. In particular, you will be focusing on the Five Pillars of Islam.


The Five Pillars of Islam are the five obligations that every Muslim must satisfy in order to live a good and responsible life according to Islam. Carrying out these obligations provides the framework of a Muslim's life.  No matter how sincerely a person may believe, Islam regards it as pointless to live life without putting that faith into action and practice. Carrying out the Five Pillars demonstrates that the Muslim is putting their faith first.


In this project, you will learn about what the five pillars are and then look at the pillar, Zakat, in further detail. Below you can find the resources that go along with each task and some child-friendly videos that will support your learning. 

The Five Pillars of Islam


Resources and Powerpoints