Scroll to content
St Francis de Sales Catholic Junior School home page

St. Francis de Sales Catholic Junior School

Non Excidet

Year 3: Project 11 - Ancient Wonders of the World

Project 11: Ancient Wonders of the World 


Last week, you studied the New Wonders of the World. This week, you will look at the Ancient Seven Wonders!


The Seven Wonders were first defined as themata (Greek for 'things to be seen' which, in today’s common English, we would phrase as 'must-sees') by Philo of Byzantium in 225 BCE, in his work On The Seven Wonders.  Other writers on the Seven Wonders include Herodotus, Callimachus of Cyrene, and Antipater of Sidon. Of the original seven, only the Great Pyramid exists today.


Ancient: Belonging to the very distant past and no longer in existence (The  Great Pyramid is the only one that still stands today).


Antiquity: The ancient past, especially the period of classical and other human civilisations, e.g. Ancient Greece, Egypt etc.


Seven Wonders of the Ancient World

What are the seven wonders of the ancient world? We travel through Egypt, Greece, and the rest of the Mediterranean to discover seven sites that were awe-ins...